UTC LEEDS governance

Governing Body

Our Governors provide expert support and guidance. They come from a variety of backgrounds, including employers from the Engineering and Advanced Technology sectors. Through their breadth of expertise, they play an invaluable role in assisting the UTC to deliver its vision. The Governing Body meets six times per year. There are also two sub-committees for Resources and Standards.

Governors have no relevant Business and Pecuniary Interests to declare.  Details of all governors are set out below with a diagram of the Governing Body structure. 

Mark Goldstone
Head of Business Representation & Policy
West & North Yorkshire Chamber of Commerce
(Chair of Governors) 

Simon Nadin

Professor Elaine Martin OBE
Head of School of Chemical and Process Engineering
University of Leeds 

Fay Best
Developer, Trainer, Facilitator for STEM & Gender Equality Projects.
WISE Women in Science, Technology & Engineering 

Richard Amos
Sufficiency and Participation Lead, Senior Partnership Manager
Leeds City Council 

Graham Cooper
Site Manager
AGFA Graphics - Leeds 

Alex Burnham
UTC Leeds 

Tim Craven
UTC Leeds 

Victoria Hopkins
Hopkins Catering 

Mitch Scott


Leeds City College

Ken Hall
Education Consultant

Deborah Watson


academy trust Board

The Members of the UTC Leeds Academy Trust are as defined in article 12 in the articles of association :- 

Mr Philip Ball - Chair of Academy Trust appointed 09.10.2014

Mr Graham Cooper - Also Governor of UTC Leeds appointed 09.10.2014

Mr Simon Nadin appointed 09.10.2014

Mr Mark Goldstone - Chair of UTC Leeds Board of Governors appointed 13.04.2016

Andy Tuscher - Regional Director EEF

Professor Peter Jimack, Dean - Faculty of Engineering, University of Leeds

The Members of the Academy Trust have an overview of the governance of the UTC and can appoint and remove Members and Governors.

To contact our Board Members or Governors please email enquiries@utcleeds.com or phone 0113 353 01340